Awards in Memory of Roy Jenkins

The Jenkins Scheme is linked to the Europaeum association of leading European universities. Applicants may be submitted from the University partners within the Europaeum. These are: the Universities of Oxford, Leiden, Bologna, Paris I (Pantheon-Sorbonne), Geneva (the Graduate Institute of International & Development Studies), Prague (Charles University), Helsinki, Krakow (the Jagiellonian University), Madrid (Complutense University), Munich (LMU), Barcelona (Pompeu Fabra), Lisbon (Institute of Political Studies), and St Andrews.

The Jenkins Scholarship Scheme honours the lifelong achievements of the former President of the European Commission (1976-1981) and Chancellor of the University of Oxford (1987-2003). The Roy Jenkins Memorial Fund was set up in 2003-4, to establish scholarships to bring students from the countries of the EU to study at the University of Oxford, and to support Oxford students going onto further study in Europe. More than 70 Jenkins Scholars have been elected in past years.

Awards are for now worth £14,000 per annum, usually for one year. Jenkins Scholars will be eligible to study at Oxford for a Masters degree in the Humanities or Social Sciences, the disciplines closest to Lord Jenkins’ own political and literary interests.

Current Jenkins Scholars

    • Mr Lucas-Jan Dörre, from the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, to study for a MSt in Modern Languages at New College, Oxford.
    • Mr Tilman Graff, from the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, to study for a MPhil Economics at St Antony’s College, Oxford.
    • Ms Theresa Lieb, from the University of Leiden, to study for an MPhil in Geography and the Environment at Linacre College.
    • Ms Anna Stanisz, from the Jagiellonian University, to study for a MSt in General Linguistics at Worcester College, Oxford.

The new outgoing Jenkins Scholars for this 2016-17 academic year with partial awards are:

  • Mr Michael Crimmins, from New College, Oxford, to study towards a DPhil in History at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.
  • Mr Dylan James, from Brasenose College, Oxford, to study towards a DPhil in Ancient History at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.

How to make a donation

For further information, and if you would like to support the scheme with a donation, please contact The Europaeum Office, Oxford, Tel: +44(0)1865284480; or print out and complete the Pledge Form and send it to the Roy Jenkins Memorial Scholarship Fund, Oxenford House, Magdalen Street, Oxford OX1 2AB, United Kingdom.

Thank you for your support.