Following a widespread review and consultation as part of the Europaeum’s 25th anniversary, new governance arrangements have been introduced.

Prince Hans-Adam II of Liechtenstein continues to be Patron of the Europaeum.

Board of Trustees provides overall guidance to the organisation; to develop new initiatives; to focus fund-raising efforts; and to provide added visibility. The Board, currently chaired by Dr Pierre Keller, has up to 15 members – including two co-opted Europaeum rectors.

The Europaeum Academic Council – created out of the former Council and Academic Committee – is responsible for academic policy and implementation, comprising the rectors and heads of all Europaeum partner institutions plus additional academic nominees. The Council is chaired by Dr Andrew Graham, chair of the Oxford Europaeum Group. A full range of disciplines are represented on the Council.

The Europaeum is co-ordinated by its Secretary-General, Dr Paul Flather, and is currently supported in the office by Programme Assistant Bhuvaneshwari Kalaiyarasan.

Day-to-day advice to the Secretary-General and Office is provided by the five-strong cross-disciplinary Steering Group, comprising representatives nominated via the Academic Council.

The Liaison Co-Ordinators’ Group, comprising a designated officer from each partner institution, usually linked to the International Office, is also responsible for supporting the Office and helping to publicise and implement Europaeum events, activities and policies, and meets annual at the same time as the annual meeting of the Europaeum Academic Council.