Professor Wim van den Doel (Leiden, Chair)

Received his MA (1987) and Ph.D. (1994) from Leiden University. He is professor of Contemporary History at this university from July 1, 2003.






Dr Hartmut Mayer (Oxford)

Educated at the Free University of Berlin (History, Politics and Drama), Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University (International Relations), Harvard University, Cambridge University (Gonville and Caius College) and St. Antony’s College, University of Oxford (DPhil, International Relations). College Lecturer at Worcester, St. John`s and St. Peter’s Colleges, University of Oxford. Visiting researcher at the European University Institute in Florence (1995), the Finnish Institute for International Affairs (UPI) in Helsinki (2003) and the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) in Berlin (2004). JSPS Visiting Scholar at Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan. Political consultant (“Region Head Europe”) at Oxford Analytica. Journalist for more than 10 years, writing for, among others, the German Press Agency (dpa) in New York, Sueddeutsche Zeitung in Munich and DIE ZEIT in Hamburg.


Professor Lenka Rovná (Prague)

Founded the Department of West European Studies in 1997. Supervises MA and PhD programmes in West European Studies and European Integration Studies at the Faculty of Social Sciences, Charles University Prague. Member of the Scientific Council of the Minister of Foreign Affairs and a member of the Academic Board of European Studies at Helsinki University. Formerly a member of an Advisory Board for the President of the European Parliament and the European University Council. Involved in the preparations for the Czech EU Presidency as a member of the Deputy Prime Minister’s advisory group on EU Affairs. Regularly organises a European Discussion Forum at Charles University. Founded the Europeum – a training program for civil servants and private sector employees on the EU matters. Jean Monnet Chair Ad Personam and bearer of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence in European Studies, 1999 and 2006.


Professor Zdzisław Mach (Krakow)

Zdzisław Mach is a Professor of Sociology and social anthropology.  Head of the Social Anthropology Section and of the Institute of European Studies of the Jagiellonian University, Krakow.  Director of the Institute of Sociology of the Jagiellonian University (1991-1993) and Dean of its Department of Philosophy (1993-1999).




Professor Didier Georgakakis (Paris 1)

Jean Monnet Chair on European political sociology (2007-2012), at IEP Strasbourg. Director of the Groupe de Sociologie Politique Européenne (2001-2007). Member of the Council and then Vice-president of the ‘Association Française de Science Politique’, Didier Georgakakis is, from 2010, a member of the bureau of the European Confederation of Political Science Associations and participated in the founding assembly of the European Alliance for Social Sciences and Humanities. Past teaching experience includes courses taught at the University of Wroclaw (Poland), Tampere (Finland) and Galatasaray (Turkey). Since 2010, member of the board of the Confédération européenne des associations de science politique (ECPSA).  He studied at Sciences Po Lyon and Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne, then taking a doctorate in Political Science at Université Lumière Lyon 2 (1992-1996).


Professor Juhana Aunesluoma (Helsinki)

D.Phil in History (Oxford), University lecturer in political history at the University of Helsinki. Member of the Board of the University of Helsinki.