Six new Jenkins Scholars elected for 2015-16

Six new Jenkins Scholars will start their academic studies at Europaeum-linked universities in September 2015 – as the scheme moves into its its second decade.

The successful scholarship scheme, which honours the former President of the European Commission and Chancellor of the University of Oxford, is linked to the Europaeum, which Roy Jenkins also helped to found in the 1990s to help academics, intellectuals and young scholars ‘bridge Europe’.

The new incoming Jenkins Scholars for this 2015-16 academic year are:

  • Miss Belinda Yibai Li, from the University of Leiden, to study for a MPhil in Development Studies at St Antony’s College, Oxford.
  • Mr Grzegorz Stec, from Jagiellonian University, to study for a MSc in Contemporary Chinese Studies at St Antony’s College, Oxford.
  • Miss Emma Rimpilainen, from the University of Helsinki, to study for a MPhil Russian and East European Studies at St Antony’s College, Oxford.

The new outgoing Jenkins Scholars for this 2015-16 academic year with partial awards are:

  • Ms Abigail Buglass, from Trinity College, Oxford, to study towards a DPhil in Classics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.
  • Ms Elena Cagnoli Fiecconi, from Corpus Christi College, Oxford, to study towards a DPhil in Anthropology at the Université Paris 1 (Panthéon–Sorbonne).

The first Jenkins Scholar, Michal Bobek – now Professor of European Law in the Department of European Legal Studies at the College of Europe in Bruges – was elected in 2004–5. In all, some 57 awards have been made in 10 years’ time. Many recipients have gone into a career in academics, including: Barbara Havelková, Tutorial Fellow in Law at Balliol College, Oxford; Christian Michel, Assistant Professor in Economics at Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona; Andrew Elliott, College Lecturer in Economics at St Catherine’s College and Somerville College, Oxford; and Michael Finch, Lecturer in Defence Studies, King’s College, London.
Dr Paul Flather, Secretary-General of the Europaeum, said: “After 10 years, our Europaeum universities remain proud to be associated with such a scheme which has the very highest standards and a strong record of achievement. It encapsulates the ideals of Roy Jenkins which we share – fostering European links, giving young scholars a sense of Europe, supporting universities, and promoting new ideas.”

Awards will be in line with official recommendations and are currently worth £13,600 per annum, usually for one year. Jenkins Scholars from Europaeum universities are eligible to study at Oxford for a Masters degree in the Humanities or Social Sciences, the disciplines closest to Lord Jenkins’ own political and literary interests.