Office location and correspondence address: c/o St Antony’s College | 62 Woodstock Road | Oxford OX2 6JF (UK)
General information, Europaeum Office (Administrator)
Telephone: +44(0)1865284482


From 16 March 2020 our staff are working from home until further notice. We can be reached by email in the usual way, but the phone numbers above and below will not be monitored in this period.

Dr. Hartmut Mayer | Executive Chair

Dr Hartmut Mayer is an Official Fellow and Tutor in Politics and International Relations at St. Peter`s College, Oxford, and Adjunct Professor in European and Eurasian Studies at Johns Hopkins University, School of Advanced International Studies, Bologna, as well as the Director of the European Studies Centre (St Antony’s College, Oxford). He studied History, Politics and Drama at the Free University of Berlin before undertaking graduate studies in International Relations at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy (Tufts University), at Harvard University and the University of Cambridge (Gonville and Caius College). He received his doctorate in International Relations from St. Antony’s College, University of Oxford. Since 2016 he has also taught International Relations in the Hong Kong Fellows’ Programme at the Blavatnik School of Government. He is also a Region Head Europe at Oxford Analytica, a global consultancy, in a free lance capacity. From 2017 to 2020 he was Acting Director to the Europaeum.

Dr. Marcin Walecki | Director
Tel +44 1865 284481

Dr Marcin Walecki was previously  Head of Democratization Department of the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights. He has over 20 years of democracy assistance and governance experience working in more than 50 countries around the world. He holds a doctorate of philosophy in politics from St. Antony’s College at Oxford University and a master’s in Law (Hons, Class I) from the University of Warsaw. Among numerous executive and advisory roles he has held include being an Executive Director of the European Partnership for Democracy (Brussels), Senior Advisor to the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES, Washington DC) and a Board Member of the School of Leaders Association (Warsaw). He was also a Max Weber Fellow at the European University Institute in Florence. As an academic, he has a strong interest in democratic governance and political corruption.

Dr. Tracey Sowerby | Programme Director & Academic Director (Oxford) of MA History & Civilisation
Tel +44 1865 284480

Tracey Sowerby is the Europeaum Scholars Programme Director and Academic Director (Oxford) of MA History & Civilisation. A historian of early modern politics and culture, she has published a monograph on Richard Morison (Henry VIII’s leading propagandist) and has co-edited a collection of essays on early modern diplomatic practice. She was PI on an AHRC international research networking award (Textual Ambassadors) and a BARSEA (Centres of Diplomacy, Centres of Culture). Her current research centres on the history of early modern diplomacy with particular interests in institutional change, cross-confessional diplomacy, and the role of culture in international communication.

Susanne Heinrich | Administrator or
Tel +44 1865 284482

Susanne plays a central role in the Europaeum as the full-time Administrator. She previously worked in the Graduate Office of the History Faculty (University of Oxford) for a decade, and was the Administrator to the Viola da Gamba Society, for which she still is the webmaster as a volunteer. In her earlier life she was a full-time internationally-renowned musician, touring the world and running a small music publishing business, with an output of well over 50 recordings.