Skip to main content
NewsPress Coverage

The Europaeum is awarded the Scaliger Medal

By August 12, 2021September 30th, 2021No Comments


Leiden University very generously awarded the prestigious Scaliger Medal to the Europaeum. The award ceremony was planned for 2020, but Covid-19 prevented any physical presence in Leiden. As part of the annual Europaeum Academic Council meeting, the event took place on 23 September at 16:15 hrs in Leiden University (Groot Auditorium, Academy Building).

We are obviously incredibly honoured to receive this medal to celebrate the Europaeum’s achievements over the last 29 years which would have been impossible without the tireless work of the many staff, the members, the Trustees, the benefactors and of course the students who are what it’s all about!

The first Scaliger medal was presented in 2017 to Leuven Professor Kurt Deketelaere, President of the League of European Research Universities (LERU). He received the award in recognition of his tireless commitment to promoting European research:

We will be celebrating 30 years of Europaeum in 2022 and are already raising our glasses to the next 30 years!


The programme began in the Great Auditorium at 16:15, with a word of welcome by the President of the Executive Board, Professor Annetje Ottow. This was followed by an introduction to Justus Scaliger by Rick Honings, who was appointed to the Scaliger Chair in June last year and recently completed a publication on Scaliger. Then Kasper van Ommen, Curator and Coordinator of the Scaliger Institute, further explored a topic that goes back centuries: the appeal of Leiden University to foreign students and scholars. And finally, after the laudatio by the President, the medal was awarded and received on behalf of The Europaeum by Dr Andrew Graham, Trustee and Founder & Honorary Advisor to the Europaeum Scholars Programme.

An article about the event is here

UPF also covered it on their site: