Skip to main content
AllNewsPress Releases

New Appointments at the Europaeum

By June 15, 2017July 7th, 2021No Comments

June 2017

New Appointments

Press Release: embargoed until 12 noon on 15th June 2017

Now in its 25th Anniversary Year, the Europaeum is delighted to announce the following new appointments:

• The Chancellor of the University of Oxford, Lord Patten of Barnes, is to take over as Chair of the Board of Trustees from the retiring chair, Dr Pierre Keller.

• Dr Andrew Graham, former Master of Balliol College, will become Executive Chair, chairing both the Academic Council and the Executive Committee.

• Dr Hartmut Mayer, Fellow of St. Peter’s College, becomes Europaeum Acting Director taking over from Dr Paul Flather, the current Secretary-General. Dr Mayer will combine his position at the Europaeum with that of Director of the European Studies Centre at St. Antony’s College, Oxford.

Lord Patten and Dr Mayer will assume their new roles at the end of September 2017. Dr Graham takes up his position with immediate effect.
Lord Patten comments: “It is difficult to exaggerate the contributions made by both Dr Keller and Dr Flather to the Europaeum. Today, we need the Europaeum more than ever before and I am delighted to take on this new challenge together with Andrew Graham and Hartmut Mayer”.

Notes to Editors
The Europaeum is an association of some of the leading universities in Europe. It was created in 1992 on the initiative of Lord (George) Weidenfeld, Sir Ronald Grierson and Lord (Roy) Jenkins, who was then Chancellor of the University of Oxford and formerly the first President of the European Commission. It promotes extensive academic collaboration across its member universities and brings together, within an educational context, exceptionally talented young people who will help shape the future of Europe.

Members of the Europaeum: The universities of Oxford, Leiden, Helsinki, Paris I (Pantheon-Sorbonne), Prague (Charles), Krakow (Jagiellonian), Geneva (Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies), Barcelona (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Madrid (Complutense), Munich (Ludwig-Maximilian) and St Andrews (Scotland). The Institute of Political Studies, Lisbon is an associate member. The Central European University in Budapest has been invited to become a ‘Special Member’ for one year in recognition of the threats to academic freedom that it is currently experiencing.
Dr Pierre Keller (retiring Chair); Lord (Christopher) Patten (incoming Chair), José Manuel Barroso (former President of the European Commission), Philippe Burrin (Director of the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva), Dr Erhard Busek (former Vice Chancellor of Austria), Professor Carel Stolker (Rector of the University of Leiden), Professor Yves Mény (former President of the European University Institute in Florence), H.E. Karel Schwarzenberg (former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic), and Professor Ngaire Woods (Dean of the Blavatnik School of Government, Oxford University).

Lord Patten of Barnes, CH PC
Chris Patten is Chancellor of the University of Oxford. He was formerly Minister for Overseas Development, Secretary of State for the Environment, Chairman of the Conservative Party, the last Governor of Hong Kong, European Commissioner for External Relations and Governor of the BBC. He is a Commander of the Legion of Honour.

Dr Graham
Andrew Graham is a political economist, and a former Master and Honorary Fellow of Balliol College. He is a Trustee of Reprieve and Senior Fellow of the Oxford Internet Institute, which he founded. Until recently, he was also a Rhodes Trustee and a Director of the Scott Trust (owner of the Guardian and the Observer).

Dr Mayer
Hartmut Mayer is an Official Fellow and Tutor in Politics and International Relations at St. Peter`s College, Oxford, and Adjunct Professor in European and Eurasian Studies at Johns Hopkins University, School of Advanced International Studies, Bologna. He studied History, Politics and Drama at the Free University of Berlin before undertaking graduate studies in International Relations at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy (Tufts University), at Harvard University and the University of Cambridge (Gonville and Caius College). He received his doctorate in International Relations from St. Antony’s College, University of Oxford.
Further enquiries should be addressed to Andrew Graham (